12 Counties Now Under Burn Ban

In All Posts, Fire Weather by Henry Luker0 Comments

As fire weather conditions cook up for the fall season with the recent dry weather, strong winds, and low relative humidity, the all-too-familiar burn bans have returned. The following counties are under a burn ban: Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clinton, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Howard, Mitchell, Winnebago, Wright, and Worth. The dry weather is expected to continue for the most part, so expect more burn bans + continuation of current ones.


Speaking of fire weather, the National Weather Service in Sioux Falls has issued a Fire Weather Watch for a bunch of fire weather zones, technically stated as the Northern Loess Hills and Floyd River Basin and the Iowa Great Lakes/Rock and Little Sioux Basins, however for the sake of simplicity, this encompasses the entirety of the following counties: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Ida, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, Sioux, and Woodbury. This runs from Thursday afternoon through Thursday evening.

25-40 MPH sustained winds in combination with minimum humidity values dropping to the 20-30% range will create very dangerous red flag conditions. Any fires that develop will likely spread rapidly – outdoor burning is not recommended.

This will likely be upgraded to a Red Flag Warning by tomorrow morning. Stay tuned to the Iowa Weather Network for the latest information.

Leave a Comment